• The CAS Cache
  • Posts
  • The Ultimate Hack to Building your CAS Offering in your Accounting Firm

The Ultimate Hack to Building your CAS Offering in your Accounting Firm

Read Time: 3:48 minutes

βœ‹Welcome to The CAS Cache, a newsletter designed to help accounting firms grow their CAS offerings. Each issue will feature my insights on a topic.

In addition, perspectives from gurus on the topic that I am listening to πŸ‘‚, reading πŸ“š, or watching πŸ‘€ and one thing I am talking πŸ—£ to my clients about in my firm newsletter. Please feel free to R&D (rip off and duplicate) the Client Cache.

Disclaimer: Some links below support me in writing this newsletter, and some give you a deal too.

Issue Sponsor 😎

The ultimate hack to building your CAS offering in your accounting firm is community. I have discussed how I utilize online communities here, but conferences are my favorite way to learn and grow from others.

Alone, we can do so little; together, we can do so much.

Helen Keller

Historically, I've dreaded going to conferences alone because I'm introverted. And when I went to conferences with people I did know, I rarely went outside my bubble. Online communities and Twitter helped me branch out. I now have an easy introduction to people based on the communications that I've had online with them.

After returning from Scaling New Heights β€œSNH”, I was reminded how valuable connecting in person with my peers is. Dave Kersting sparked the reminder. He gave a passionate speech about his community stepping in to help run his firm as he spent time with a dying loved one. It was an incredible story on the power of community.

Kicking it with amazing people at SNH.

Building these in-person relationships with people in my communities has changed my life. Two notable items are hiring a contractor in the Philippines and purchasing FinDaily. Both of these started as a conversation at the same conference.

When hiring the contractor, I could have spent hours or even days trying to figure it out on my own. Instead, I picked up the phone and continued the conversation I had started with Blake Meester at the conference. He guided me on his approach to hiring overseas, saving me time and potential headaches.

This is why I believe community is the ultimate hack. You can find people a step or two ahead of you and learn from their experiences. You want someone a step or two ahead rather than the Tiger Woods of the problem you are trying to solve because they will better recall what they did. Plus, they will be more accessible.

This is why Megan Tarnow and I are bringing back #qbochat and putting our spin on it to extend these conference conversations. And give people who have not attended conferences a way to connect before attending their first conference. We will host these every month on the fourth Thursday at 2 pm CT starting August 24. Drop a comment in the Tweet below πŸ‘‡ on what we should call it.

I hope to see you all at the next conference. Currently, I plan to attend QuickBooks Connect in Vegas from November 13 - 15.

Choose Your Own Adventure πŸšΆβ€β™‚οΈπŸ—Ί

What do you want to learn about next?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Guru Cache πŸ‘‚πŸ“šπŸ‘€

Client Cache πŸ—£

πŸ‘€πŸ§ πŸ’ͺ As a former college athlete, I appreciate a professional athlete's dedication and love looking behind the scenes at how pros operate. Check out Full Swing to get a behind-the-scenes look at PGA players.

Thanks for reading, Luke Templin!

P.S. There are 3 ways I can help you grow your CAS offerings when you are ready: